Orua Bay Getaway

IMG_0842

Sometimes as a writer, you need a place to go to recharge, restart and relax.  Due to a particularly stressful event, the writing had ground to a halt and the inclination, never mind the inspiration, was lacking.  At times like this you know that you need to give yourself permission to just take time out, get away from the banality of normal life and go somewhere that inspires you. 

The place I go is Orua Bay at the tip of Awhitu Peninsula.  It’s relatively close to where I live and yet it feels like I am miles from anywhere.  The place I stay is right on the beach and the rhythm of life is defined by the incoming and the outgoing of the tide. 

Relaxation was long walks on the beach as I reflected on the first few months of this year, mourning a loss and yet rejoicing in what had been.  There were no regrets, although sadness lingered.

I wrote.  A walk on the beach inspired a few pages of reflection and then bad weather forced me to stay inside.  When the TV refused to work, I worked instead on editing a manuscript, taking it as divine intervention – a sign that I was there to write, not to watch mindless TV.

On the last day I wrote a message in the sand, knowing it would be wiped away by the incoming tide.  It was my way of saying goodbye.  Then I left, taking with my new prose and renewed direction in writing.

I will return to that special spot and next time I won’t be so sad.  Maybe another emotion will overwhelm me, but I know that I can go there and be myself and acknowledge the writer in me that needs the quiet times of isolation every once in a while to rediscover inspiration.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

